MP&F’s Thanksgiving Favorites

November 20, 2012

As we enter the holiday season, we would like to wish the entire MP&F family a happy Thanksgiving. In doing so, we thought we’d share some of our favorite things about the holiday. Whether you are stuffing your face, rooting for the Lions to pull one out, volunteering or napping, we hope you are close to the ones you love.

Happy Thanksgiving!

My favorite Thanksgiving tradition was started many years ago by my grandmother because she didn’t like to watch football. Each year after Thanksgiving lunch, she would organize a craft project.  To keep the tradition going, my cousins and I take turns being the “designated crafter.”  It’s my turn this year, so I’m especially thankful for Pinterest.

–          Deborah Armour, Director of Information Services

My favorite Thanksgiving Day tradition is stuffing myself silly and spending the evening at my parents’ lake house on Center Hill. I also enjoy rummaging through leftovers with my cousin after everyone else has gone to sleep.

–          Lacey Purcell, Staff Associate

The wonderful smells of food cooking/baking when you come in the front door after a pre-dinner walk around the neighborhood. Turkey … stuffing … apple and pumpkin pies … yum!

–          Pat Ackerman, Accounting Assistant

I always look forward to my mother’s gravy and cornbread dressing. Southern cooking at its best!

–          Mary Ruth Raphael, Account Supervisor

My mom makes the best homemade apple pie, and it’s the highlight of Thanksgiving. I guarantee it’s better than your mom’s apple pie. It’s made entirely from scratch, from the inside out. For the last few years, I’ve been slowly learning the pie secrets, and this year will be my first solo apple pie debut. Wish me luck!

–          Ashley Bright, Associate Account Executive

I love waking up and doing the traditional Boulevard Bolt in the morning with my mom and best friends, then cooking all day. And throwing the football with my brothers. And playing with my kids. And eating. And eating again. And then standing in line for Black Friday sales. Wait, I am already exhausted. Seriously, I just love everything about Thanksgiving, and the family time that surrounds it.

–          Kelly Brockman, Senior Account Executive

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving is a family sing-along of the “Johnny Appleseed” song immediately following the blessing. It’s a fun way to instill in my kids that they have everything they could possibly need. Here are the words:

“Oh the Lord’s been good to me, and so I thank the Lord

For giving me the things I need,

The sun, and the rain, and the apple seed,

The Lord’s been good to me.”

–          Alice Pearson Chapman, Partner

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving is that I’m somehow still too young to be responsible for all of the cooking. I just get to show up and eat!

–          Lauren Barrett, Account Executive

Our Thanksgiving is going to be different this year. My son’s football team is still in the high school football playoffs, and he has a game Friday night. On Thursday morning, our family will go to Nashville Christian School and have Thanksgiving breakfast with our football family. My son will practice with his team for a few hours, and then we’ll have our traditional turkey and dressing dinner.

–          Jennifer Brantley, Senior Vice President

Back in the day, Thanksgiving morning in Memphis began with a tackle football game sans pads, known affectionately as the Turkey Bowl. The most memorable game occurred in the late ‘80s; high that day was about 10 degrees – and windy – so ‘frozen tundra’ described it well. It was two hours of action, followed by about five of the walking wounded heading to our house for hot chocolate in front of the fire, then on to their homes for dinner – the perfect way to work up a Thanksgiving Day appetite.

–          David Fox, Partner

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving is just getting to spend time with family, eating good food and watching football. Those are probably three of my favorite things, so needless to say, Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday!

–          Brooke Bloom, Account Executive

My favorite Thanksgiving tradition is going around the table and saying what we are thankful for. It is all the usual responses, family, health, food, etc.; but it still makes me feel good to know we’ve all gathered another year to share thanks.

–          Stacy Alcala, Account Executive

My favorite tradition: Watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade with a big ‘ol cup of coffee!

–          Leigh Lindsey, Account Executive

Since my children have grown, we use our time when they are home for Thanksgiving to do Christmas ornaments together. We started by going to paint-and-fire pottery places. We would all gather and paint the ornaments and the store would keep and fire them, we could pick them up weeks later in time for Christmas. This year we are branching out to hand-blown glass ornaments. I took advantage of a coupon and got us a class together the day after Thanksgiving in Franklin. Fingers crossed that we don’t burn down the city; but it should be a fun time spent with my daughters and their husbands, my college senior and his girlfriend, hubby, and me.

–          Lynn Vincent, Senior Art Director

I loved watching the Detroit Lions football game on TV back in the ‘60s – before they moved into a sanitized dome stadium. It seemed like every year it was either snowing or raining, and the field would turn to slop and everyone would get seriously muddy. My grandmother could never understand why they were playing football on Thanksgiving Day.

–          Roger Shirley, Editorial Director

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving is my mom’s sweet potato pie! There’s no one in the world who can compete with her.

–        Mara Naylor, Staff Associate

Both of my parents have left us, as have both of my wife’s. But I have fond memories of walking into our home in Cleveland when I came home from college and smelling turkey baking, onions and celery being sautéed for the dressing, and pumpkin pie baking away. My message is not about the past, but about the future. If you still have parents or even grandparents around, enjoy them, appreciate them and hug them while you can! You will never bring these moments back entirely once they are gone.

–      Mike Pigott, Founding Partner/Senior Counsel

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving used to be dinner. But, then I got married. So now it is dinners, emphasis on the “s”! Both sides of our family live here in Nashville, so it is twice the rolls, stuffing, turkey, dressing, gravy, casserole, pie and family. I love Thanksgiving.

–          Dan Schlacter, Senior Account Executive

For me, it’s probably the look on visitors’ faces when they realize that we’re eating rice, not potatoes, with dinner.

Javier Solano, Vice President

Leave a Reply

