It’s all in your head

October 3, 2011

I’ve never been a runner. Ironically, my husband runs and has since the day I met him. It took serious urging of co-workers to sign up for a half marathon that is in less than two weeks.

After some brain fumbling, I went online and paid the registration fee. What I didn’t know at the time was that my grandfather would pass away that very day, six hours after I paid the registration fee.

Sad – that’s what I was. He had been sick for a while, so it wasn’t a complete shock. Motivated – not in the least bit, at least not at that moment. I have always enjoyed walking, but I couldn’t even imagine myself running a quarter of a mile. Why in the world did I sign up to do this?

Then it dawned on me. I can do this. I can do this for him, in his memory. I may not be able to run the full thing or even half of it, but I am going to try at least. I can do this for my husband, who loves running. I can do this for my two small kids, who love my newfound energy. I can do this for ME.

The moral of the story is sometimes it’s all in your head. Don’t do the old “I think I can, I think I can” song and dance; just get out and do it. This doesn’t speak just to running, but to life in general.

Push yourself beyond your normal day-to-day limits and your whole world will be a new place. Mine is.

2 Responses to “It’s all in your head”

  1. Pat Phipps Says:

    I am so proud of you! You push yourself in everything you do, not just your new found love of running. If I wasn’t so OLD, I would run it with you. Your granddaddy will be watching you finish the race and will be so happy you shared this with him.

    You push yourself at being the best wife, mother, worker, friend and especially daughter! Your rock!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    See you at the Lungevity 5K at 9 a.m., Saturday, Nov. 5, at Centennial Park.


Leave a Reply

