Diaries of a Young Professional: Packing Your Professional and Social Calendar

September 28, 2011

It has been three years. Three years since I moved to Music City. Three years since I was the “new girl” at MP&F. I’ve spent that time learning my way around the office, the Tennessee media landscape and the public relations industry. I have learned a lot – both in the office and outside it.

As a fairly fresh, young professional living in what I believe is one of the best cities for recent graduates (especially those of the SEC), I’ve found the most effective way to establish roots and build both business and personal relationships is to pack the social calendar.

I’ll admit, though, that I’m often the first to complain about a busy schedule:

– How about dinner on Tuesday?
– You have a Nashville Junior Chamber meeting? What about Thursday?
– Right, Live on the Green, I totally forgot. I’ve got it – let’s meet for lunch on Friday.
– Seriously? A company lunch outing? How about some time in 2012?

I struggle to balance a busy social and professional development schedule with the downtime this introvert needs to recharge her batteries. But, as a family-free young professional, I know I will never have more free time than I do now. Carpe diem, Elizabeth. Get out there and be active.

I don’t necessarily mean taking up extreme activities like skydiving or roller derby – but how about a kickball league or trivia night? Visiting a new museum? Attending a fundraising gala? Taking advantage of Tennessee’s outdoor offerings? Signing up for a class or volunteering with a nonprofit organization? Joining a professional organization?

The key to not feeling overwhelmed is twofold:

  1. Pinpoint activities that genuinely interest you.
  2. Never feel guilty for discontinuing an activity you are not genuinely enjoying.

When planning my schedule for the month, I find it helpful to regularly browse a variety of blogs, websites, e-newsletters and magazines (and keep an eye on Twitter, of course). A few resources I find particularly helpful are below.

Blogs

Websites Newsletters Magazines
Nashvillest Visit Music City Downtown Details Nash. Lifestyles
Nash. Bearings Now Playing Nash. Groupon Nfocus
Eat. Drink. Smile. Style Blueprint Sharing Spree Southern Living
Ms. Cheap Nashville Sports League Her Nashville Good Stuff Garden & Gun

Once you have pinpointed the activities you are interested in, the only thing left to do is get out there! See you around town, Nashville. Come say hello (if you can track me down) via Twitter or Foursquare.

One Response to “Diaries of a Young Professional: Packing Your Professional and Social Calendar”

  1. Lee Says:

    A girl after own heart!


Leave a Reply

