Dear Danny: A Google+ Quandary

August 2, 2011

By Dan Schlacter

Dear Danny,

Earlier this week, I received a Google Alert regarding one of my clients. That client, who I will call “Norma,” is a national organization with hundreds of offices. According to my Google Alert, one of those offices just created a Google+ account.

Initially, I was excited that someone within my client’s ranks was taking advantage of a new communication tool. Then, I was concerned Norma might get caught up in Google’s booting of brands. Later still, I felt the need to remind Norma that it can be beneficial to explore a new platform personally before planting the official corporate flag online.

Now, I am just conflicted. What should I do?

Google+ (or minus?) in Music City

 

Dear Minus,

Judging from the fact that none of your concerns had anything to do with Norma’s content, I’m going to assume you are at least not freaked out by her actual Google+ strategy, just that she’s on there and you didn’t know about it.

As a communications professional, that’s a justifiable reaction. Nobody likes to be on the receiving end of a media clip containing something about a client’s communications strategy that you didn’t already know.

But, I see this as a positive. I see an opportunity for you to flex your social media muscles in front of Norma (and who doesn’t like to put on a gun show for the ladies now and then?).

Check in with Norma. Tell her you saw that she’s on Google+. If you like her approach so far, let her know. Let her know why too. Share your concerns by mentioning Mashable’s Google+ workaround and the possibility that she’ll need to recreate the wheel once brand pages are released.

These are just a few ways you can show Norma that you are paying attention, that you have her best interests at heart and that you know what you are talking about (even though you are obviously a little late in having this particular conversation).

Sincerely,

 

Danny

P.S. – A few disclaimers regarding this blog entry:

  1. Based on actual events.
  2. I am Dear Danny … and Google+ (or minus?) in Music City.
  3. I’ve never been to a gun show, of the bench press or ballistic variety. But, come on, how often do you have the chance to hyperlink to the Mr. Olympia home page?
Leave a Reply

