Communications skills translate from the classroom to the office

April 28, 2011

After completing a semester-long internship with MP&F, I’ve realized that the skills I attained in my undergraduate education can also apply in a real-life work setting. I’ve had to defend my decision to major in both English and history multiple times during the last two years, because neither of my liberal arts degrees provides me with a direct career path. It hasn’t always been easy for me to articulate how I will use what I’ve learned in my course work in a career.

My English major is all about using the written word to convey a well-supported argument in a clear and concise manner. In my history classes, I research primary accounts and secondary commentary to draw conclusions about history and create my own arguments. As an MP&F intern, I’ve learned that the public relations field requires this same level of critical thinking and argument formation. While I haven’t been asked to research and write about The Great Gatsby or the Cuban Missile Crisis, I find specific information pertaining to client news and projects and then use this information to create messages.

The end goal is the same when writing a term paper and a client message: To inform an audience about a specific topic and its relevance to their lives. Knowing how to write and research effectively is essential for any job in communications, and I can thank my English and history classes for training me in both of these areas. And I can thank McNeely Pigott & Fox for showing me how useful a liberal arts degree can be.

Leave a Reply

