At MP&F, no one is “just” a student

April 21, 2011

When I first arrived for my internship at MP&F in January, I really didn’t know what to expect. I had an idea of what working at a public relations firm might be like, but I suspected that I would be assigned mostly menial tasks such as getting coffee or making copies, as have some of my classmates at their internships. Three months later, I can tell you that is not the case here at MP&F.

The internship program at MP&F has far exceeded my expectations. It has helped me apply my knowledge of public relations in practical, real-world assignments. I’ve been able to use my writing skills and have received constructive feedback from staff members. I appreciate the insights from staff members because it helps me to further develop the quality of my writing, one of the most valuable skills for a PR professional.

I knew immediately that this was going to be a valuable learning experience. In my first two weeks at MP&F, I met with several different staff members. Everyone was so willing to sit and talk with me and answer my questions, and each one of them explained a different aspect of public relations and how MP&F operates. Initially all of this information was overwhelming, but I soon realized that it was preparing me for the work I would be asked to do.

No one “babied” me. They told me the basics of what I needed to know and then gave me the responsibility of figuring out how to complete an assignment. Of course, someone was always there if I needed help or had a question, but they didn’t explain every little detail to me. I was treated as a professional and not just a student. I was included in team meetings and brainstorming sessions and had opportunities to work directly with clients.

I would encourage any student with the passion and drive to learn more about working at a PR firm to apply for the internship program here at MP&F. I can truly say that what I have learned here has been some of the most beneficial experience in my college career.

One Response to “At MP&F, no one is “just” a student”

  1. Aimee Schmittendorf Says:

    Great feedback, Lauren. I’m so happy that you’ve been able to get so much from giving in your internship. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

