Resolve to write and to refrain in 2010

February 25, 2010

How are those New Year’s resolutions coming? If you read Part 1, you’ll know that I decided to cut myself a break on the diet-and-exercise front after many failed attempts and focus instead on communications – greater financial reward, less stink. So here’s Part 2 of my 2010 list:

Send a hand-written note

I received a thank-you note in the mail the other day. And then I was trying to remember the last time I had received a thank-you note in the mail, wondering if I’ve been extremely unhelpful for a long time. Nah, can’t be. Maybe it’s just that all the thank you notes I receive – and everything else I receive, for that matter – come via e-mail. I forget most of those, though they’re appreciated. But I don’t forget the hand-written thank yous. (Full disclosure – the U.S. Postal Service is a prospective client.)

Take the Facebook plunge

Actually, I’m just kidding about this one. If you’re one of the last holdouts – assuming you’re already in contact with everyone you want to be in contact with and whoever is long-lost in your address book perhaps deserves to be – you may be better off just waiting for the next thing. My techie goals for this year are modest. I just want a cell phone that has power for more than 5 minutes and isn’t the size of a brick.

Never use “uber” … ever

So I’m watching one of those HGTV design shows (they’re all the same) over the holidays, and the host – you know, the guy with the edgy haircut who’s trying to get you to do things to your house that you only find inside a W hotel – keeps putting “uber” in front of everything. Uber-cute, uber-spectacular, uber-splashy. Uber-nausea. Look, I don’t care if you’re a Buffy fan or maybe read some Schopenhauer a long time ago, but there’s no need for this in any form of communication, including HGTV Germany. Thought I’d close with an easy one. Keep it out of your lexicon. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

